One Hundred Thirteen

IMG_3863A Year of Yoga: April 24, 2014

Pose: Side Plank Variation

Sanskrit: Vasisthasana

Location: In front of another cool piece of street art in Macarena. This was on a pre-dinner walk. Tonight we are having students over for dinner. We have been hosting groups of students for dinner throughout the semester. They have been having a tough time with their food situation. Most of them eat in the dining room at the residence but are sick of pork and white bread (aren’t we all). Some of them live in homes with families and are just not given enough food. It’s probably a good thing for them to go through, but I love seeing how they react when they sit down to a big plate of rice, beans, and tortillas. Sometimes we even have jalapeños and they go nuts. We have realized how very spoiled we are with good food in California. Any cliches you here about Californians complaining about food in other places…it’s true. Believe me, the food in California is the best food I’ve had anywhere….and I’ve been a lot of places.

Now that Spring Break is over, we are having student dinners two or three nights a week to make sure everyone has an opportunity. They have been so sweet and often come bearing delicious desserts and bottles of wine. It’s been fun to spend time with them in a less formal setting and get to know them better. I love hearing about the crazy experiences they’re having (of which I will not reveal the details). I love hearing what their plans in school are, what they’re majoring in, or considering majoring in. I love hearing about how living in another country is changing their perspective on the world, on friendship, on their own personal sense of independence. I’m honored that many of them have felt comfortable enough in our home to share some personal thoughts. What has often come to mind as I listen to them share, is that I’m here having similar revelations, but I’m in my mid-30’s and they are 19 or 20. To me, the age difference means nothing. It doesn’t matter that I’m 15 years older than them or that they don’t know who Kurt Cobaine is and that the concept of “rewinding” is foreign to them. It doesn’t matter what age you are when you have profound life changing experiences. What matters is that you have them; that you recognize them and take advantage of them in whatever form they’re presented. It’s been a constant reminder of the amazing gift me and my family have had; to live abroad and see and experience things many people will never be able to. Whatever I’ve given up or left behind has been worth it. Sometimes I need to be reminded.

Photography Credit: Momo

 

One thought on “One Hundred Thirteen

Leave a Reply

