Forty Two

A Year of Yoga: February 11, 2014

Pose: High Plank

Sanskrit: Uttihita Chaturanga Dandasana

Location: Performing Arts Center (aka the PAC) at Sunny Hills High. Intermission at Our Town where Lulu played Rebecca Gibbs. My daughter Lulu has been performing in theater since the third grade. We have spent the past 8 years budgeting for registration fees, selecting audition material, driving way too much to drop off and pick up at rehearsals. We have painted sets for Cinderella, Fiddler on the Roof, Sound of Music, Annie, and more. I have personally spray painted wigs, knitted leg warmers, and made tails out of yarn for Cats. I have spent hours backstage trying to shepherd young children through costume changes and calls to places. I have hunted in every OC thrift store for shirts with Peter Pan collars, dresses with sweetheart necklines, 30’s cloche hats, and bib overalls (and failed). Who knows how many pairs of ballet slippers, jazz shoes, and character shoes we’ve been through. There are phases in my life where I could sing every word to songs like Tevye’s Dream, Growltiger’s Last Stand, Alone in the Universe, and Horse Right Here. I still sometimes belt out “N – Y – C; there’s something about you” for no reason at all. And how many times have I said “break a leg” and remembered not to say the name of the main character of the Scottish Play? It’s hard to say how many hours of my life over the past 8 years have been spent in support of Lulu’s love. A small fortune in time and money has been spent. Sometimes I complain. Sometimes I threaten under my breath that this is the last show ever. Theater people have a way of making your whole life about their project…..but I will stop. The truth is though that I wouldn’t trade any of it. If it weren’t theater it would be hours on the soccer field or weekends at dance competitions. Theater is a unique beast and I can say even though I’ve cursed out directors in my mind (and my car) for keeping Lulu out until 11:00 on a school night, I have truly enjoyed every time I see her take the stage.

Photography Credit: Momo

Leave a Reply

